2015 SLC Review

Over 1,250 students, advisers and guests participated in the 2015 FCCLA State Leadership Conference. The conference theme was “Life Thru the Lens: Most Iconic Awards.” The 2014-2015 State Officer Team gave awards to the most iconic movies, people, and events from the past 70 years in the main conference sessions (Opening, Banquet and Awards). The state officers chose the award winners based on how they inspired changes in the world and how they relate to FCCLA and Family and Consumer Sciences.


The FCCLA State Conference was held at Renaissance Denver Hotel April 9 -11. Students from across Colorado competed in events, ranging from Job Interview and Career Investigation to Culinary Arts and Interior Design. Workshops were well attended and presented by AmeriCorps, Western Dairy Association, FCCLA Alumni & Associates, Colorado Culinary Academy, Random Acts of Kindness Foundation, Junior Achievement, FIDM, and Jamie Utt. Kyle Scheele, the conference keynote, entertained members while delivering his message of not being a bystander in life and make the change you want to see. Colorado Lieutenant Governor Joe Garcia welcomed members to the conference and received the 2015 Outstanding Legislative Support Award at the Opening Sessions


Colorado FCCLA would like to thank Michelle Koch, Debbi Lardinois, Colorado Culinary Academy, Johnson & Wales University, Caitlain Bricker, Alex Kirschbaum, Zack Kirschbaum, Bailee Gardunio, Sahvanna Mease, Cassandra Rodriguez, all the event consultants and judges, state officers and team advisers, and everyone who contributed to making our conference a success!


The following members were elected as State Officers for the 2013-2014 school year:

President – Brooklyn Buhre, Roosevelt High School

1st Vice President – Paige Beckman, Wray High School

2nd Vice President – Benjamin Lapp, Briggsdale High School

Secretary – Victoria Connor, Cherry Creek High School

VP of Events – Sydney Mayer, Northglenn High School

VP of Finance – Coalton Hostetler, Miami Yoder High School

VP of Membership – Brooklynn Bracelin, Wray High School

VP of Occupational Programs – Ian McCullough, Bollman Technical Center

VP of Peer Education – Kate Wall, Roosevelt High School

VP of Programs – Casey Barretero, Jefferson Senior High School

VP of Public Relations – Carissa Kirschbaum, Merino High School

VP of Publications – Tatianna Medina, Centaurus High School

VP of Recognition – Miguel Gomez, Northglenn High School

State Representative – Kaylee Michael, Haxtun High School

National Officer Candidate – Kayelani Kirschbaum, Merino High School


Congratulations to:

These Chapters that have National STAR Event Qualifiers: Ames Facility, Briggsdale, Bollman Tech, Canon City, Centauri, Centaurus, Chaparral, Cheraw, Cherry Creek, Columbine, Coronado, Elizabeth, Grandview, Highlands Ranch, Holmes Middle, Holyoke, Legacy, Meeker, Merino, Miami Yoder, Mountain Vista, Niwot, North Arvada Middle, Northglenn, Northridge, Pickens Tech, Platte Valley, Ponderosa, Rocky Mountain, Roosevelt, Sanford, Standley Lake, Summit, Vista Academy, and Wray.



State Award Winners

North Arvada Middle School and Sterling High School won the Up Membership Award for having the largest percent member increase.


Holmes Middle School and Cheraw High School FCCLA winning the Up Membership for having the largest numerical member increase with 51 members.


Outstanding Member: Kate Wall, Roosevelt High School

Leadership Scholarship: Paulyna Alcorn, Wray High School

Promise Award:Emily Mohlis, Elizabeth High School

Outstanding New Adviser: Alyssa Horlick, Miami Yoder High School

Outstanding Adviser: Angela DePue, Wray High School

Spirit of Advising: Kimberly Baldwin, Ponderosa High School

Master Adviser: Samantha Archer, Roosevelt High School; Kimberly Baldwin, Ponderosa High School; Sasha Gartin, Cherry Creek High School

Honorary Membership: Miriam Chavez

Outstanding Administrative Support: Sharon Webb, Miami Yoder High School

Alumni Achievement: Cyndi Kopetzky-Hoffmeister


Years of Service

Advisers with 5 years experience:

  • Diana Coulter, Montezuma Cortez
  • Erica Ewald, Summit
  • Joanna Kelley, Northridge
  • Jeanine Pope, Fort Morgan
  • Gerard Torres, Sterling
  • Nicole Tycksen, Mead
  • Christina Wharton, Estes Park
  • Trish Wilson, Career Education Center


Advisers with 10 years experience:

  • Pam Cummings, Dakota Ridge
  • Sarah Davis, Englewood
  • Katy Gagne, Bayfield
  • Mandy Johnson, Poudre
  • Shawna Karl, Prairie View
  • Judy Owens, Weld Central


Advisers with 15 years experience:

  • Samantha Archer, Roosevelt
  • Nancy Cornell, Pueblo Central
  • Beth Francis, Windsor
  • Peggy Hall, Akron
  • Cynthia Hardy, Smoky Hill
  • Angela Smith, Fort Morgan
  • Shannon Tufts, Highlands Ranch
  • Darlene Wertin, Arvada West


Advisers with 20 years experience:

  • Martha Batch, Ralston Valley
  • Linda Dageenakis, Altona Middle
  • Linda Motz, Palisade
  • Patti O’Keefe, Wheat Ridge
  • Joachim Schaaf, Warren Technical Center
  • Shari Wolfrum, Platte Valley


Advisers with 25 years experience:

  • Mary Sue Carroll, Cheraw
  • Marjorie Reed, Centauri


Advisers with 30 years experience:

  • Lynn Hillard, Briggsdale
  • Janet Niederkorn, Platte Valley
  • Marilyn Wagner, Pueblo East


Advisers with 35 years experience:

  • Jean Lange, Boulder
  • Susan Ortner, Holyoke


Colorado FCCLA thanks all advisers for your hard work making the 2015 State Conference an iconic success!

2015-04-22T10:54:55-06:00 April 22nd, 2015|state news|Comments Off on 2015 SLC Review