2017 State Conference Wrap Up

FCCLA State Leadership Conference


Over 1,100 students, advisers and guests “Started Somewhere” at the 2017 FCCLA State Leadership Conference at Sheraton Downtown Denver Hotel April 13 – 15.


The State Leadership Conference was full of many new and exciting opportunities for members to enjoy! Attendees went the extra mile by advocating for FCS and FCCLA with Denver Mayor Michael Hancock at the Rally on the Hill, fueled themselves with knowledge at the Start Somewhere Block Party and in leadership workshops, sparked their engines at the inspiring opening session held at the Ellie Caulkins Opera House, improved their roads by giving back and participating in our community service activities, and took a special pit stop at our FCCLA Ultimate Fun Night. This conference celebrated the journey that Colorado FCCLA took this year.


Colorado FCCLA would like to thank Michelle Koch, Cynthia Hoeppner, Bailee Gardunio, Kayelani Kirschbaum, Zack Kirschbaum, Tara Bell, Lauren Wojcik, Jen Girvin, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts, UNIQLO, University of Colorado at Denver, Coalton Hostetler, Brooklyn Buhre, Erin Bender, Katelyn Barber, Marisa DeClerqc, all the event consultants and judges, state officers and team advisers, and everyone who contributed to making our conference a success!


The following members were elected as State Officers for the 2017-2018 school year:

President – Carissa Kirschbaum, Merino High School

1st Vice President – Shelby Norris, Cherry Creek High School

2nd Vice President – Emily Gutierrez, Roosevelt High School

Secretary – Julia Dickey, Highlands Ranch High School

VP of Events – Ariel Bowden, Miami Yoder High School

VP of Finance – Georiga Bosse, Standley Lake High School

VP of Membership – Alyssa Mackey, Cheraw High School

VP of Peer Education – Dominique Perri, Golden High School

VP of Programs – Sierra Edgar, Merino High School

VP of Public Relations – Gabe Martinez, Northridge High School

VP of Publications – Annika Harmsen, Wray High School

VP of Recognition – Amy Rogers, Miami Yoder High School


Congratulations to the chapters that have National STAR Event qualifiers: Akron, Ames Facility, Briggsdale, Bollman Tech, Canon City, Centauri, Chaparral, Cheraw, Cherry Creek, Columbine, Douglas County, Eaton, Evergreen Middle, Fort Collins, Frederick, Fruita Monument, Heritage, Highlands Ranch, Holmes Middle, Holyoke, Legacy, Mead, Meeker, Merino, Mountain Vista, Northglen, Platte Valley, Ponderosa, Rocky Mountain, Roosevelt, Roy J Wasson, Sanford, Standley Lake, Trinidad, Windsor, and Wray.


State Award Winners

Evergreen Middle School and Greeley West High School won the Up Membership Award for having the largest percent member increase.


Holmes Middle School and Mountain Vista High School FCCLA winning the Up Membership for having the largest numerical member increase.


Outstanding Member: Savanah Baker, Platte Valley High School

Leadership Scholarship: Victoria Connor, Cherry Creek High School

Promise Award: Kristi Cook, Merino High School

Outstanding New Adviser: Jordan Sveen, Coronado High School

Outstanding Adviser: Marjorie Reed, Centauri High School

Outstanding District Consultant: Andrea Aragon, Spanish Peaks

Spirit of Advising: Sasha Hartsuiker, Cherry Creek High School

Honorary Membership: Debbie Nelson

Outstanding Administrative Support: Dr. Glenn McClain, Platte Valley Schools and Chris Gould, Standley Lake High School

Outstanding Legislative Support: Representative Phil Covarrubias

Ultimate Image Award: Wray High School


Colorado FCCLA thanks all advisers for your hard work making the 2017 State Conference a success!

2017-04-24T10:45:06-06:00 April 24th, 2017|state news|Comments Off on 2017 State Conference Wrap Up