2018 SLC Recap

Over 1,200 students, advisers and guests experienced the “Everlasting Tale” at the 2018 FCCLA State Leadership Conference at Marriott DTC Hotel April 5-7. SLC was full of many new and exciting opportunities for members to enjoy. Attendees imagined a tale in youth sessions and the World’s Expo, lived your tale through competitive events, and furthered a tale in the friendships you made. This conference celebrated the tale that Colorado FCCLA wrote this year.

Colorado FCCLA would like to thank Michelle Dennis, Cynthia Hoeppner, Bailee Gardunio, Kayelani Kirschbaum, Lettha Plecker, Victoria Connor, Tara Bell, Jen Girvin,  Metropolitan State University of Denver, JC Penney, RTD Denver, all the event consultants and judges, state officer team advisers, and everyone who contributed to making our conference a success!

We would like to congratulate the following members for being elected as the 2018-2019 State Executive Council.
President – Alyssa Mackey, Cheraw High School
1st Vice President – Cheyenne McGuire, Akron High School
2nd Vice President – Sarah Shelton, Cherry Creek High School
Secretary – Julia Jakuboski, Chaparral High School
VP of Events – Ariel Bowden, Miami Yoder High School
VP of Finance – Toby Cockreham, Briggsdale Lake High School
VP of Membership – Brooklyn Pustari, Ponderosa High School
VP of Peer Education – Lionel Bustillos, Platte Valley High School
VP of Programs – Aimee Sanchez, Pomona High School
VP of Public Relations – Elizavet Carranza, Platte Valley High School
VP of Publications – Rylea Baumberger, Coronado High School
VP of Recognition – Matt Kopala, Northglenn High School
National Officer Candidate – Emily Gutierrez, Roosevelt High School
National Officer Candidate – Gabe Martinez, Northridge High School

Congratulations to the chapters that have National STAR Event qualifiers and will represent us at the National Leadership Conference in Atlanta this summer! Bollman Tech, Boulder, Briggsdale, Centauri, Chaparral, Cheraw, Cherry Creek, Columbine, Coronado, Douglas County, Eaton, Fort Collins, Fort Morgan, Fossil Ridge, Frederick, Fruita Monument, Golden, Highlands Ranch, Holmes, Holyoke, Legacy, Loveland, Mead, Meeker, Merino, Mountain View, Mountain Vista, North Arvada, Northglenn, Platte Valley, Pomona, Ponderosa, Rocky Mountain, Roosevelt, Roy J. Wasson, Sanford, Smoky Hill, Springfield, Trinidad, Warren Tech, Windsor, and Wray.

State Award Winners
The 2017-2018 State Executive Council would like to recognize all of the following individuals who received state awards.

North Arvada Middle School and Mesa Ridge High School won the Go for the Red Membership Award for having the largest percent member increase.

Mountain Vista High School FCCLA winning the Go for the Red Membership for having the largest numerical member increase.

Outstanding Junior Member Award: Cheyenne Cisse, Overland High School
Outstanding Senior Member Award: Harley Gentry, Merino High School
Outstanding Occupational Member Award: Ami Tat, Legacy High School
Leadership Scholarship: Sarah Wiebers, Merino High School
Promise Award: Harley Gentry, Merino High School
Spirit Stick of Service: Rocky Mountain High School
District of Excellence Award: Northern District
Outstanding New Adviser Award: Zack Kirschbaum, Merino High School
Outstanding Adviser Award:  Dianna Hall, Northridge High School
Outstanding District Consultant: Jeanine Pope, Northeastern Plains
Master Adviser Award: Arielle Bergmann, Kelsey Mauch, Andrea Aragon, and Andrea Freisema
Mentor Adviser Award: Kelly Gauck and Kimberly Baldwin
Spirit of Advising Award: Denise Sciacca, Trinidad High School
Honorary Membership Award: Lynn Zemanek
Outstanding Administrative Support: Sohne Van Selus, North Arvada Middle School
Ultimate Image Award: Gateway High School

Colorado National Program Awards
Community Service National Program Award: Platte Valley High School
FACTS National Program Award: North Arvada Middle School
Families First National Program Award: Holmes Middle School
Student National Program Award: Wray High School

Colorado FCCLA thanks all advisers for your hard work making the 2018 State Conference a success!

2018-04-11T21:57:36+00:00 April 11th, 2018|state news|Comments Off on 2018 SLC Recap