State Leadership Conference Wrap Up

Over 1,000 students, advisers and guests participated in the 2016 FCCLA State Leadership Conference. The conference theme was “The Difference is 1.” The 2015-2016 State Officer Team inspired members during the general sessions through the story of 5 young adults from 1916 on board a steam train bound for CSU that breaks down and the only thing that will raise the engine’s temperature to the boiling point or 212° are their stories of how they have made the one degree of difference. The story ended by the passengers realizing that Family and Consumer Sciences Education was the reason they are successful and that they all wanted to study FCS Education at CSU.

The FCCLA State Conference was held at Renaissance Denver Hotel March 31 – April 2. Students from across Colorado competed in events, ranging from Job Interview and Career Investigation to Culinary Arts and Interior Design. Workshops were well attended and presented by That’s Not Cool, Dude. Be nice, Lynda’s Legacy, Compassionate Careers, Colorado Culinary Academy, and the state officers. Yahya Bakkar, the conference keynote, entertained members while delivering his message of not being a bystander in life and make the change you want to see. Colorado Senator Nancy Todd welcomed members to the conference and received the 2016 Outstanding Legislative Support Award at the Opening Session.

Colorado FCCLA would like to thank Michelle Koch, Bailee Gardunio, Christine Hollingsworth, Lauren Wojcik, Tara Bell, Jacqui Geiselman, Colorado Culinary Academy, Johnson & Wales University, Zack Kirschbaum, Heidi Borrego, Ayla Settles, Elisa Lock, Jessica Teal, all the event consultants and judges, state officers and team advisers, and everyone who contributed to making our conference a success!

The following members were elected as State Officers for the 2016-2017 school year:

President – Sydney Mayer, Northglenn High School

1st Vice President – Paige Beckman, Wray High School

2nd Vice President – Michaela Bailey, Highlands Ranch High School

Secretary – Sierra Edgar, Merino High School

VP of Events – Victoria Valenzuela, Coronado High School

VP of Finance – Emily Gutierrez, Roosevelt High School

VP of Membership – Casey Fringer, Centauri High School

VP of Peer Education – Joseph Cruz, Jefferson Senior High School

VP of Programs – Tatianna Medina, Centaurus High School

VP of Public Relations – Linda Lombardi, Meeker High School

VP of Publications – Tatianna Medina, Centaurus High School

VP of Recognition – Carissa Kirschbaum, Merino High School

National Officer Candidate – Brooklynn Bracelin, Wray High School

National Officer Candidate – Victoria Connor, Cherry Creek High School


These chapters have National STAR Event Qualifiers: Akron, Ames Facility, Briggsdale, Bollman Tech, Broomfield, Centauri, Chaparral, Cheraw, Cherry Creek, Coronado, Fossil Ridge, Fruita Monument, Grandview, Greeley West, Holmes Middle, Holyoke, Ignacio, Legacy, Meeker, Merino, Mountain Vista, Niwot, North Arvada Middle, Northridge, Otis, Platte Valley, Ponderosa, Poudre, Rocky Mountain, Roosevelt, Sanford, Smoky Hill, Standley Lake, ThunderRidge, Windsor, and Wray.


State Award Winners

Evergreen Middle School and Vista Ridge High School won the Up Membership Award for having the largest percent member increase.

Holmes Middle School and Chaparral High School FCCLA winning the Up Membership for having the largest numerical member increase.

Outstanding Member: Miranda Wiebers and Breanna Tramp, Merino High School

Leadership Scholarship: Brooklyn Buhre, Roosevelt High School

Promise Award:Breanna Tramp, Merino High School

Outstanding New Adviser: Carla Sullivan, North Arvada Middle School

Outstanding Adviser: Samantha Archer, Roosevelt High School

Spirit of Advising: Arielle Bergmann, Chaparral High School

Master Adviser: Denise Gauck, Holmes Middle School

Mentor Adviser: Samantha Archer, Roosevelt High School

Honorary Membership: Judy Heath

Alumni & Associates: Bailee Gardunio

Ultimate Image Award: Cheraw High School

Colorado FCCLA thanks all advisers for your hard work making the 2016 State Conference a success!

2018-06-06T18:03:13-06:00 April 8th, 2016|state news|Comments Off on State Leadership Conference Wrap Up